Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

Genre: Young Adult, Romance

The TL;DR: It was cute. You can definitely tell this is one of Matson’s first books and as such has some faults but overall, adorable story/really fun, light easy ready.

“The best discoveries always happened to the people who weren’t looking for them.”

Ever since I read Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson I’ve been obsessed with her books (though, to be honest nothing compares to that one). Somehow though I ended up reading them in reverse order from most to least recent, which is generally a bad idea because as is usually the case (one hopes) a writer’s writing improves over time.

So, for obvious reasons this was not my favorite of her books but I did really enjoy it. I really liked both Roger and Amy’s personalities and how they interacted with each other but I feel like their character backgrounds were a little cliche. Amy is the victim of tragedy which (you’ll never see this coming from) she has a hard time not blaming herself for, while the entire development of Roger’s character and subsequently Amy’s relationship with him is based off him trying to get closure from his ex who basically ghosted him.

The writing style wasn’t too different from the rest of Matson’s book and even included little playlists in between different parts of the story like she did in Since You’ve Been Gone. Man, I thought Frank from SYBG had good taste in music because one of his playlists had “House of Gold” by twenty one pilots and “I Need My Girl” by The National on it. Almost every single one of Roger’s playlists had at least one song that I absolutely love and was dying over. So the playlists are a really cute touch.

I have to say I really wanted to give this book a solid four stars or even 4.5 but I have to knock down the rating for the ending. Now, I didn’t hate the book because of it but I was definitely disappointed. From the get go, the plot lines up this glaringly obvious conflict and it never reaches that climax? It just ends with a sort of cliffhanger that implies that conflict needs to be resolved ***in the vague and unwritten future of ‘after the book’***?

It was a pretty short book by the current averages in YA books these days (but it also was released several years ago as it was one of Matson’s early books?) coming in under 350 pages or so. So I felt like it was a case of the story ending too soon when it wasn’t too long to begin with.

“There was something about being alone in places that were usually filled with people that made them seem particularly empty when it was just you.”

Leave a Reply

