Chained to the Rhythm

Needless to say if you’ve followed this blog for as long as I’ve had it, you might have noticed that I have a fondness for attending concerts. It often surprises a lot of people though to learn that I didn’t attend my first concert until I left home for college (aka around the same time I started this blog). It started with a determination to commit to seeing an artist I really loved live, I needed my first concert to be something that I really appreciated which is why I put off going to a concert for so long (among many other reasons but this was the most acceptable to me).

In my first year of college I got tickets to 4 artists, all of whom I think met my criteria of being near and dear to me. The first was Florence and the Machine at the Viejas Arena at SDSU (the first of many concerts I would/will see at this venue). The second was Marina and the Diamonds at the Fox Theater in Pomona. And the third, perhaps the least well-known but one of my absolute favorites, was Parov Stelar at the Observatory in North Park, my favorite neighborhood of San Diego and one of my favorite live venues. And finally, the last pair of tickets, that I obtained almost a year (10 months) in advance was of course, twenty one pilots’ Emotional Roadshow at Viejas.

I saw twenty one pilots on July 24, 2016 and from there is where my absolute addiction to concerts took off. After seeing that show (one of my favorites to date), you might be familiar with my crazy story of buying tickets to see that same tour again, this time in Anaheim, in February of this year.

And in addition, when I started my second year at UCSD, who none other than Panic! at the Disco announced that they would be playing at Viejas on March 26, 2017. But of course that came and went, and then I realized something. After I saw Panic! I realized that for the first time a little over a year I didn’t have a concert to look forward to in the far distant future.

And boy, did that realization really get it in for me. I bought two tickets for shows within in the same month; I had never bought tickets for anything that close to the actual show date before I, in an extremely impulsive decision, bought 2 tickets at a resale price ($67  each) for Bastille at the Novo in downtown LA on the 19th of April, barely 2 weeks from the time of my buying them. (This all turned out to be incredibly worth every single penny as it turns out The Novo, perhaps known better by its old name Club Nokia, is a ridiculously tiny, intimate venue for a band of scale like Bastille, and after waiting in line for only about 5 hours, my friend Nicole and I ended up being the second people behind the barricade in the pit).

And to out do myself even more, one my sorority sisters ended up wanting to do her own impulsive adventure – seeing Glass Animals at the Fox Theater in Pomona, proposing the idea at the same time I had bought my Bastille tickets. So naturally, I volunteered myself to accompany her, and we bought tickets for that only a week before the concert date, which just so happened to be the night before I saw Bastille.

From there, my commitment to attending concerts had a drastic snowball effect and I bought tons of tickets for every month following for the rest of 2017 with only slight exception – no shows in July when I’d be in Wyoming, and none in December (though if something were to come up, I wouldn’t be opposed to going to those as well, and besides that, certain months I’d be seeing 2 shows).

Shortly following, LiveNation (a ticketing company for live shows) had a $20 ticket summer kickoff sale for selected shows which led to me and my friend Suzy snagging tickets to 93.3 Summer Kickoff. This originally started as a joke between me and Suzy that we wanted to see the Backstreet Boys, and before getting these tickets (at this outrageously cheap price), I was completely unaware of the little mini festivals held by radio stations such as 93.3 or their massive pulling power when it came to booking some pretty impressive lineups (some better, more well known examples of this that I was vaguely aware of are Kiis FM’s Wango Tango and KROQ’s Weenie Roast). As for 93.3 Summer, for the low price of just $20 (to my amazement this was the flat cost of the tickets, no processing or service fees) I saw (we missed the first few artists because we were late but arrived in time for) Niall Horan, Hailee Steinfeld, Machine Gun Kelly, DNCE, Halsey, the Backstreet Boys (naturally), and David Guetta at the SleepTrain Amphitheater (I refuse to call it MattressFirm) in Chula Vista.

Similarly, for June I convinced Suzy to also get tickets to attend SPF 949, San Diego’s alternative station 94.9’s mini festival, at the Oceanside Pier so I could see Saint Motel again (who I’ve been obsessed with since watching them open for Panic! at the Disco) and Franz Ferdinand, one of my favorite older bands that my cousin introduced me to when I was starting high school and she was still studying at community college. Here is where I discovered LP, who is an amazing vocalist and now on my future tour watchlist as well as got to hear a little of Judah and the Lion who opened for twenty one pilots in February and Mondo Cozmo who was previously touring with Bastille (though for my show, Frenship opened). Also at SPF, they announced the line up for their second mini-festival at the same venue and released presale tickets for just $15, which is how I got tickets for Portugal. the Man, MisterWives and Sir Sly at 94.9’s Indie Jam in September.

So many of my favorite artists have been making new music that I almost can’t keep up. Almost. 😉 Here’s my lineup for the remainder of 2017, as far as music goes, it definitely has been and will be one for the books:

Alt-j 08.09.17 @ Shrine Auditorium, Los Angeles

Young the Giant 8.26.17 @ FivePoint Amphitheater, Irvine

Indie Jam (Portugal. The Man, MisterWives, Sir Sly) 09.09.17 @ Oceanside Pier Amphitheater

Glass Animals 09.19.17 @ Humphrey’s Concerts by the Bay, San Diego

MisterWives 09.30.17 @ The Observatory, Santa Ana

The National 10.05.17 @ The Hollywood Bowl, Los Angeles

Halsey 11.05.17 @ Viejas Arena, San Diego*

Fall Out Boy 11.15.17 @ Viejas Arena, San Diego*

(*You see what I mean about Viejas ?!?!?)

P.S. I don’t even really like that song by Katy Perry but I thought it was a particularly fitting title, given everything.

Leave a Reply

